D365 Budget control statistics is empty

When I have setup Budget control check and tried to purchase goods that exceed my budget, I faced up with an issue that Budget funds available is 0. I was confused because I have already created Budget register entry and updated budget balances.  I double-checked Actual & Budget inquiry and I saw the data there. But when I opened Budget control statistic it was empty as well as Dimension values were empty in the Budget control statistic by period form.

Empty budget control statistics

Empty dimension values in the budget control statistics by period

I spent quite a lot of time to realize that budget control needs to be active when you are entering / recording budget register entries. In my case, I activated Budget control after I had entered Budget register entry for financial dimensions.

If you activate Budget control configuration it later on, those budget register entries that have been recorded before activating the feature will not be taken into consideration.

So, solution in this case will be:

  1. Verify that Budget control configuration is Active
  2. Re-enter budget register entry
  3. Verify Budget control statistic and Budget control statistic by period

Fixed budget control statistics

Fixed dimension values in the budget control statistics by period

Leave a comment